Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Adelita's Secret by Christopher Cloud

Adelita's Secret
By: Christopher Cloud




Lost in a superficial world of materialism and social status—and ashamed of her Latino heritage—seventeen-year-old Adelita NoĆ© is loved by two men, two men separated by a hundred years and vastly different stations in life. One man owns little more than the shirt on his back. The other, a poet at heart, is heir to a vast fortune. Their love for Adelita serves as the backdrop for the Latino girl’s quest to better understand herself and her Mexican roots. 




Come back Friday for your chance to win a copy of Adelita's Secret. Can't wait 'til then? Adelita's Secret is currently available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Spotlight on....

This week the spotlight is on....
(Drum roll please...)







Christopher Cloud

His current works include:





Be sure to come back later this week for a special guest post from Christopher AND a chance to win a copy of his book!


Saturday, December 27, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 31

Again, no pics. Sorry. My phones been messing up this week.

But I did lose some of what I gained last week. I really wish I had been able to. I think I mainly forgot because I started my first round of cortizon shots in my back this week. So I'm kinda recovering from that.

Weight: 183.6 lbs.

Friday, December 26, 2014

Interview with Marilyn Horowitz (& A Giveaway!)





Where did you come up with your idea for The Book of Zev?


The opening quote is what inspired me to want to write this story: “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men (and women) to do nothing.”


Was there a person that was your inspiration for The Book of Zev? 

I was returning on a train from a screenwriting conference where I’d conducted a workshop on creating great characters using my trademarked writing system, and met a man, a religious Jew, who was having a crisis of faith. We talked for three hours and the next thing I knew, I was writing a book. 


Who would you like to thank for getting you where you are today?


 Wow, that is probably at least a novella!

 I would have to start with God, followed by my maternal grandparents, who wrote a book together, Faith through Reason, an attempt to reconcile Judaism and Christianity. I would thank the real person that the character of Sylvie is based on. Then there were my parents, who had a vast library, which I read almost in its entirety. I also thank my first grade teacher, Mrs. Rank, who produced my first play when I was in first grade, and Lou Stanek, a writing teacher who guided me through my first attempts at writing fiction. And finally, I must thank Mrs. Wallace, my third grade teacher, who published my short stories in the school magazine. Then there’s my ex, who helped me develop my writing system, and Michael Zam, who inspired me to write my first nonfiction book on my writing method.
If I had to thank one person above others, it would be my mother, who helped me put together that first play and even made my costume for the play. My mother also edited part of The Book of Zev before she died, and was always my toughest critic.

Tell us how you got yourself to where you are today?


I wrote my first play at six, my first “book” when I was eight, and kept going until I went to film school, where I began to write films.  A friend asked me to take over her screenwriting class, and after that I began working as a script doctor, producer, and a private writing coach. Years went by and then one day I realized I’d forgotten my dream. My mother was terminally ill, and I suddenly became aware that life is very short. Soon after, I met the man on the train, and three years later, here I am, a soon-to-be- published novelist!


More About Marilyn Horowitz:


Marilyn Ida Horowitz is a producer, writing coach, and award-winning professor of screenwriting at New York University. From her books on her trademarked writing system—now standard reading at NYU—to her appearances at Screenwriters World and The Great American Screenwriting Conference & PitchFest, Marilyn has guided the careers of literally hundreds of writers. She is currently featured in the Now Write! Screenwriting Anthology (Tarcher/Penguin) and in the upcoming The Expert Success Solution (Morgan James). Her production credits include And Then Came Love (2007), starring Vanessa Williams.


Where else you can find Marilyn around the web:



***** Now onto the giveaway! Marilyn is being kind enough to offer a print copy of The Book of Zev to one lucky U.S. winner or an e-copy if the winner is located internationally!     *****


Here are the rules! 

To become eligible to win, all you have to do is enter using the Rafflecopter form below! 


·     The winner of the contest will be announced on this blog
·     The giveaway is open to U.S. residents only for the physical copy or kindle version and international winners will receive only the kindle version

·     You will receive your choice of a physical copy or kindle version, if that is what you prefer in and are located in the U.S., of the book The Book of Zev. If you are located outside the U.S. you will receive an e-copy. The winner will receive the book within two weeks after the winner is announced

Remember to please leave your email address in the Rafflecopter so we have a way to contact and verify the winner's information! This is important. If you do not leave an email addy then I won't be able to contact you and therefore you won't be able to win.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Excerpt from The Book of Zev

What a fool she had been to fall in love with a man, any man. For a brief time the way Michael had made her feel thwarted her chronic nihilism. He had filled her with that most evil thing—hope. Michael resembled Clark Kent from Superman. He was tall and muscular. Dark, curly hair fell forward on his high forehead, framing an intelligent face with a cleft chin. Horn-rimmed glasses topped off his profile. Sarah had hoped the marriage vows would be kept, and furthermore that the two of them would always inhabit that euphoric state known as “being in love.” It had lasted for a year or two, and then somehow, the connection had slipped away. Sarah found herself living with a man who would do anything for her except the one thing she needed. In short, he had stopped making love to her for over a year before the end. Once she saw that the magic was gone forever, she ended the marriage although her married friends all seemed to have accepted that it was natural for the romance to end, and that a descent into a comfortable sort of brother-sister arrangement was fine. They didn’t understand why she would give up such a good and decent man and risk being alone. Was it “good and decent” not to try to meet the other half of a relationship halfway? She wanted a life filled with romance—and she had never felt as alone as she did on those sexless mornings. The worst was knowing that he hadn’t wanted to try. He kept saying that he couldn’t, but a book she read to try to understand his behavior stated bluntly that “couldn’t” meant “wouldn’t.” She keenly remembered the dreadful recognition when she’d read those words.


Today was the worst so far. Well, it was a Sunday. She felt like the Little Match Girl in the fairytale, who is not allowed to come in out of the snowstorm until all of her matches are sold. The child dies, unloved and unnoticed. Sarah felt the Little Match Girl’s pain and could not comfort herself. She just had to wait it out, and usually this agony would pass into her unconscious because she was too busy prepping a new cooking job. Thanksgiving was the beginning of one of her busy seasons.



*****Want to get to know  Marilyn Horowitz? Want a chance to win your own copy of The Book of Zev? Come back Friday for your chance to win!*****

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

The Book of Zev by Marilyn Horowitz



The Book of Zev
by: Marilyn Horowitz





The Book of Zev is a political thriller that tells the story of two gentle people who change the course of history. Zev Bronfman, a strapping 32-year old-virgin, angry atheist, refugee from a religious Jewish life, and former engineer for the U.S. Patent Office in Alexandria, Virginia, drives a cab and sleeps around in New York City. After a bitter divorce, Sarah Hirshbaum, a beautiful, redheaded, depressed, God-hating kosher chef, seesaws between yoga and too much red wine. Independently, the two consult the same psychic who inadvertently sends Sarah Zev’s session tape. When Sarah contacts Zev to pick up the recording, a series of events forces them to connect with a powerful terrorist in order to thwart his plans to destroy the UN and Israel.



Come back Friday for your chance to win a copy of The Book of Zev. Can't wait 'til then? The Book of Zev is currently available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Monday, December 22, 2014

Spotlight on...

This week the spotlight is on....
(Drum roll please...)






Marilyn Horowitz!



Her current work includes:






Be sure to come back later this week for a special guest post from Marilyn AND a chance to win a copy of her book!



Saturday, December 20, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 30

Again I forgot to take pics! I have no idea what's wrong with me...

Unfortunately, I gained 3 lbs. back that I had lost last week.


Weight: 185.8

Friday, December 19, 2014

Guest post Spotlight from Paul DeBlassie III (& a giveaway! ends 12/30/14)

Let's give a warm welcome to Paul DeBlassie III the author of The Unholy! He was kind enough to join us today for and interview and to share his plans for the holidays and a few of his favorite things! So without further ado may I introduce Paul DeBlassie III!




How Do You Celebrate the Holidays?

As a writer of what some have referred to as pagan literature, I celebrate the holidays by attuning myself to nature. My family and I, celebrate the seasons and important facets of human life such as gratitude and good will. In writing The Unholy, the medicine women listen to natural forces such as this and find that they are able to live their lives much better, more harmoniously, and attuned to healing forces. There is so much in the course of one day to fill my life that I have to make sure and get time to heal myself, to relax, sink into marriage and family life. Ultimately, it’s the wonder of marriage and family life that grounds and heals me, keeps my feet on the ground, keeps me real and keeps me going!

What is your favorite season?

Spring is my favorite season especially here in Aztlan,(New Mexico)as the high-mountain desert teems with budding life and the turquoise skies are crystalline clear.

What was your favorite subject in school?

Psychology, religious studies, and English were favorite subjects of mine, all of them coming together as a thriller writer who explores the dark side of religion as is dramatized in The Unholy.

What is your favorite heartbreak song?

Willie Nelson’s rendition of You Were Always on my Mind is a cautionary tale to me of the need for love and to express it with a full heart and sincerity lest the moment pass and leave us with regret, something best to avoid for the sake of truth to self and a loving relationship.

What is your favorite movie?

I have lots of favorite movies, but I was recently impressed by the tragic tale of Philomena in which the protagonist can be seen as having been permanently damaged by the dark side of religion.

What is your favorite thing to do on a rainy weekend?

Rainy days are for curling into self and reading good books and spinning tales of intrigue.

What is your favorite breakfast food?

Red chile breakfast burritos served up piping hot in the land of Aztlan is my favorite food to start off on the path of an enlightening day!

What is your favorite dessert?

In Aztlan we have a specialty desert called natillas, a chilled custard with whipped egg white, nutmeg, and cinnamon…a real soul warmer!

Do you prefer rain or snow?
Here in Aztlan, the high mountain desert, we are grateful for all form of precipitation of both the snowy and purely liquid variety.

If your personality was a color, what would it be?


I’m a blue guy, the color of the unconscious mind as deep calls unto deep and color vibrates with a soulful resonance.


Paule DeBlassie III, PhD, is a psychologist and writer living in his native New Mexico. A member of the Depth Psychology Alliance, the Transpersonal Psychology Association, and the International Association for Relational Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapy, he has for over thirty years treated survivors of the dark side of religion.  


***** Now onto the giveaway! Paul is being kind enough to offer a print copy of The Unholy to one lucky U.S. winner or an e-copy if the winner is located internationally!     *****


Here are the rules! 

To become eligible to win, all you have to do is enter using the Rafflecopter form below! 


·     The giveaway will start on Dec 18, 2014 and end on Dec 30, 2014
·     A winner will be picked on Dec 30, 2014 and will be notified by email
·     The winner of the contest will be announced on this blog
·     The giveaway is open to U.S. residents only for the physical copy or kindle version and international winners will receive only the kindle version

·     You will receive your choice of a physical copy or kindle version, if that is what you prefer in and are located in the U.S., of the book The Unholy. If you are located outside the U.S. you will receive an e-copy. The winner will receive the book within two weeks after the winner is announced

Remember to please leave your email address in the Rafflecopter so we have a way to contact and verify the winner's information! This is important. If you do not leave an email addy then I won't be able to contact you and therefore you won't be able to win.


Where else you can find Paul around the web:


Twitter
Facebook
The Unholy on Amazon and Barnes & Noble
Paul DeBlassie III on Amazon


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Excerpt from The Unholy

“Hush now, child,” said a voice she recognized as that of her mother’s closest friend. “The man cannot harm you, mijita, as long as you are with us. We will make him think you are dead. But you must be very quiet. “Ya no llores,” the woman warned, raising a finger to her lips.

The woman then carried her into a dark cave illuminated by the light of a single candle. The cave was frightening, with shadows of what appeared to be goblins and demons dancing on the red sandstone walls. “I will return for you soon. You will be safe here,” the woman said. The girl watched the woman walk away, shivering as a breeze blew through the cave’s narrow passages.

Closing her eyes, she rocked back and forth—imagining herself safe in her mother’s arms—then opened her eyes to the light of the full moon shining through the mouth of the cave. The shadows on the walls were just shadows now, no longer goblins and demons. As she slipped into a trance, images flickered in her mind. She saw the woman who had brought her to this place scattering pieces of raw meat around the open mesa where her mother had struggled, helped by two other women the girl could not identify.

Suddenly, the scene shifted to a stone ledge jutting over the mesa, and she heard the pounding footsteps of a man running toward the women. The girl felt her heart race and her breathing quicken, afraid that the bad man would spot them and kill them. Then the image shifted again, and she now saw on the mesa three gray wolves circling the raw meat and the man walking away from the granite ledge. As he left, she heard his thought: The child is dead.





*****Want to find out more about Paul DeBlassie III? Want a chance to win your own copy of The Unholy? Come back Friday for your chance to win!*****

The Unholy by Paul DeBlassie III

The Unholy
by Paul DeBlassie III




 "A young curandera, a medicine woman, intent on uncovering the secrets of her past is forced into a life-and-death battle against an evil Archbishop. Set in the mystic land of Aztlan, the Unholy is a novel of destiny as healer and slayer. native lore of dreams and visions, shape changing, and natural magic work to spin a neo-gothic web in which sadness and mystery lure the unsuspecting into a twilight realm of discovery and decision."


Come back Friday for your chance to win a copy of The Unholy. Can't wait 'til then? The Unholy is currently available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Monday, December 15, 2014

Spotlight on...

This week the spotlight is on.....
(drum roll please....)





Paul DeBlassie III!

His current work includes:




Be sure to come back later this week for a special guest post by Paul AND a chance to win a copy of his book!

Saturday, December 13, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 29

Sorry forgot to get a pic this week!

But I lost this week! And I lost BIG! 3.2 lbs!! Yay me!


Weight: 182.8 lbs.

Saturday, December 6, 2014

Sunday, November 30, 2014

R.I.P. Gabby Jankowski

So I know a lot of my readers have seen my posts about Rett's Syndrome and the girls that we were able to introduce people to during the Readers for Rett's Awareness Event.








 Today at 4:45 am Gabby, my best friends daughter, lost her fight with Rett's Syndrome.  She went peacefully in her sleep and was surrounded by her family who loved her. She was only 11 years old. I want to ask that everyone takes a moment and shares this, or shares the link to Gabby's interview from the Readers for Rett's event. So many girls are lost to this horrible disease. Not just from the disease killing them, but also from this monster taking away the lives they could have lived. It takes away their ability to run and play, their ability to speak. But even so they are still amazing warriors who impact the lives they touch with their bravery, kindness, grace and love. In sharing this post, Gabby's interview, and the other posts of the girls from the event their lives can have an even greater impact and hopefully at some point in the future maybe even pave a way to find a cure for this horrible disease.

Gabby's family has been amazingly brave and dedicated to her through this whole horrific ordeal. Something none of us would ever wish to even imagine facing. Gabby wherever you are....you can now run and speak and be free from pain and the life you faced of being trapped within your body. A life you faced with amazing grace and strength. Memories of your laughter and love will forever touch the lives of the people who knew you. I will always be inspired by your strength and courage. We will never forget you.

Saturday, November 29, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 27





So how was everyone's Thanksgiving? 

This was my plate for Thanksgiving! Yes, I used some of weekly 49 points, but they were soooo worth it!



Not only did I make some awesome food and get some great Black Friday Sale's deals, I even lost weight!! Plus I reached my 25 lb. mark 

AND 
I got a new charm because of it! I'm so happy!!!


25 lbs.!!


I lost 1.4 lbs this week!


11/29/13



11/29/13


Weight: 185 lbs.!







Saturday, November 22, 2014

My Adventures In Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 26

I lost weight this week. More than I gained last week and with Thanksgiving coming up I really hope I can keep up weight loss, or at least not gain anything! My total weight loss for this week was 1.6 lbs. Wish me luck for next week!

Happy Turkey Day to all my readers!

(Sorry forgot to take pics this week!) 

Weight: 186.4 lbs.

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Saturday, November 8, 2014

My Adventures In Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 24


This week I lost 1.6 lbs. That's the .8 I gained last week plus some!






11/8/13


11/8/13

Weight: 187 lbs.

Saturday, November 1, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 23

So it's been 5 whole months so far! Gosh time's gone by fast. I'm not as far along so far as I first envisioned, but I still feel like I'm accomplishing something. I've gotten to know a few people at the meetings and I actually look forward to my time there.

This week I gained back almost all of the pound I lost last week. :(
But not the whole thing, only .8.




11/1/13


11/1/13

Weight:  188.6 lbs.


Saturday, October 25, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 22

This week I tried out SmartOnes Oatmeals. I'm not big on oatmeal, it tends to make me REALLY sleepy. But I'm trying to work on the eating breakfast thing.  These are quick and easy. There were two kinds: Apple & Cinnamon, the kind pictured, and Maple & Brown Sugar. I have to say they were both good, but I preferred the Maple & Brown Sugar. The servings aren't huge, but since I'm not a big breakfast person anyway they were the right size for me. Plus only 4 pts.



I lost 1 lb. this week. I'm getting so close to that 25 lb. mark...






10/25/13


10/25/13

Weight: 187.8 lbs.

Saturday, October 18, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 21

Some weeks there's just not a lot to say. I gained this week...  .6 of a lb.
The ladies that do the weigh in are always sweet about it though. They always say it's ok, and they ask if maybe I had something salty the night before, etc.
But even when I lose, sometimes there just isn't a lot to say. So I'll have the pics each week, but maybe not a whole big conversation. lol.

Thanks for following along so far on my adventure. I hope maybe I'm inspiring somebody out there to not give up. Whether it's on weight loss or something completely different. Keep going. Keep trying.



10/18/13


10/18/13

Weight: 188.8 lbs.

Saturday, October 11, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 20

So this week we got a free sample. You know what's awesome about free samples? They're FREE of course! Duh! Plus that early in the morning gettin' a free snack is very cool!


These new crisps were actually kinda tasty.  If I got a chance I think I would definitely get some. But at the same time I might hesitate if only because I might eat the whole box. Yea, that probably wouldn't help the whole weight thing....

I lost a whole pound this week! Yay me!


10/11/13


10/11/13
Weight: 188.2 lbs

Saturday, October 4, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 19

After all the excitement from last week I decided to try out a new recipe I found on my phone.




It was supposed to be a tangy/sweet mustard covered salmon...Yea, it turned out WAYYY too mustardy.  The boyfriend ate it too, but barely.

Definitely won't be trying that one out again.  Boyfriend suggested I just make fish the way I usually do with lemon and pepper or the one I bake with the veggies.  I explained to him that I was trying to make interesting and tasty new creations.  Plus I know he likes salmon so I was trying to find a recipe that I would like the taste of it too.  Yea, he said just to buy him the salmon in a can and not waste good salmon with bad recipes. (At least he said it was the recipe and not my cooking.) *shrug* Might just do that . I have better luck with tilapia and other white fish than I do with salmon anyway. But again I have to give him credit, he ate all of it and didn't bring up how he felt about it until I bugged him a few hours later to get his opinion on if I should make it again.

Only lost 0.2 lbs. this week. But that's ok. At least the scale is going down.


10/4/13


10/04/13

Weight: 189.2 lbs.


Monday, September 29, 2014

Readers for Retts Awareness is THIS Friday!!!!



Hey boys and girls!!! So who is ready for the Readers for Retts Awareness Event this Friday?!?!?!

I am soooo excited. 

I want to say thank you to all the wonderful bloggers and writers who have offered their services and sponsorships to the girls.  You guys are awesome!!! 

I also want to say a special thank you to all the Rett's girls and their families who where willing to share their stories with everyone to help get the word out there about Retts Syndrome. 


So???
Who's going to be there?!?!

I know I am! 

If you haven't already been invited, well consider this your invitation!!!

And don't wait for Friday! We already have some pre-event contests going on. So be sure to click on over and join the event and get a chance at some of the amazing prizes that are already being offered!!!

The one prize is still a secret, however....I WAS able to get a pic of one of the prizes, and I get to share it with YOU!!



The person who gets the most people saying that they were referred by them gets this awesome Rett's Awareness Key-chain handmade by co-host and author extraordinaire Rae Z. Ryans
(I am so jealous, so is so friggin' talented!)



Saturday, September 27, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 18

Aha! I sooo knew it was water weight last week! (Well at least partially anyway!) I went in this week and I was down 1.8 lbs.  Stupid water.
The other great thing this week is that I bought a new pair of jeans. Not just any jeans, they were misses/juniors jeans, off the rack, a size smaller in juniors than I normally wear...Ok. I don't wear misses because I'm small, I'm obviously not, but they tend to fit my height better and they are way cuter than mom jeans. As it is I haven't bought new pants in ages from misses or womans. First I stopped buying pants because I was a size 16 in womans and I got tired of trying to find anything cute AND have to suffer the humiliation of dressing room mirrors.  Second when I started losing weight I decided not to buy anything new until I reach my goal weight.  At my goal weight I wear size 8-10 depending on the cut, etc. Yea so it's just not worth the money at the moment on something I won't wear after I lose the weight, especially when I can just buy a belt which is a much cheaper temporary fix.

Anyway I decided to splurge and get the jeans because a) they were soooo cute and b) I figured if I didn't fit into them right away, then maybe in a few months I would.  c) they were super on sale.

AND THEY FIT!!!!

Woohoo happy dance time! So awesome! 


9/27/13


9/27/13

Weight: 189.4 lbs.



Friday, September 26, 2014

Mesothelioma Awareness Day!



Today is Mesothelioma Awareness Day! 

I was invited by Cameron Von St. James and his wife Heather to help spread the word today about mesothelioma.  Heather is an eight year survivor of this horrible, and preventable, cancer. They have decided to make it their mission to help open peoples eyes to this horrible disease and today is especially important to them, as it is Mesothelioma Awareness Day.

If you've never heard of mesothelioma, or have heard of it but don't know much about it I'd like to share some astonishing facts about it.  Some I didn't even know, and considering how easily it could be prevented it is heartbreaking that people are still be exposed to the causes of it today!

Lets start out with some simple facts. There are three types of mesothelioma:

and


It is caused by exposure to Asbestos. Some of its most common uses is in electrical and building insulation. But here's the thing. ANY amount of exposure to asbestos exposure can hurt you! AND (even worse!) it's still not banned in the U.S.!! I mean seriously I find this unbelievable! This is a substance that you can get sick from even through second hand contact. For example if you happen to touch someones jacket who has been working with the material and there are any fibers of it left there, YOU could get sick. I mean seriously in a country where there are wars on drugs, groups against drunk driving, even programs to encourage people to stop eating meat and fast food! But there isn't a petition out there or advertising on t.v. saying we need to ban this product! It's known to kill people, but it's still being used out there! What the heck?!?

Every year approximately 3000 people are diagnosed with mesothelioma and given around 10 months to live. But here's the really scary part about that. It's been almost 30 years since asbestos was at it's peak use, yet people are still coming in contact with it and getting sick and it is the number one cause of occupational cancer.  

Plus, not only is it difficult to diagnose because of its symptoms being similar to other respiratory conditions, symptoms themselves might not appear until almost 30-60 years after initial contact with asbestos. So say you grew up in an older home, or went to an older school, where asbestos was used as a common insulator back in the day. Say you only lived there for a year, or went to the school for a week. First you might not even have known the asbestos was there, but then on top of it the cancer wouldn't even become evident until 30 years later!! So you go about your life, not a care in the world. You don't drink, you don't smoke, you don't eat red meat.  You exercise regularly, you've got a great job and an awesome spouse and are just hitting your stride in life. You're in your early 30's and you've just bought your first home and are getting ready to have your first kid and then....


BAM!

Outta no where you find out you have a cancer that's gonna kill you within' the year. Seriously WHAT THE HELL?!?!

And it could have been prevented by some big wig saying "Hey! This stuff kills people! Why are we still using it? Why are people still coming in contact with this shit? We need to get on the ball! Find out where this stuff is still in use. Test every home, every school, every public building, work place! Under every rock and behind every wall and GET RID OF THIS STUFF! NOW!"

But nobodies saying this. People are still being exposed. People are still getting sick and dying. 

EVERY DAY!

I know by now most of you reading this are saying "Oh my God, this is horrible, this is disgusting.  But really what can I do? I'm just one person. I work at a menial job for minimum wage. Nobody listens to me.
But wait, that's not true! You may just be one voice, but all it takes is one spark to start a fire. Take this information and use it. Find out more about mesothelioma and share the info you find! Share this post. Give a voice to the victims of this preventable killer.  Help spread the word.  This is a cancer that can be prevented and put an end to. 

To find out more about mesothelioma follow the links in the above post and the links below.












Saturday, September 20, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 17

This week was sooo busy and crazy.  By the time Friday rolled around I was just out of it and feeling like dirt.  On top of that when I weighed in this week I had gained 2.2 lbs! Unbelievable.  I'm thinking maybe it's water weight, I have been feeling really puffy this week.  Anyway, let's get to this weeks pics.


9/20/13



9/20/13

Weight: 191.2 lbs.


Friday, September 19, 2014

Happy Release Day! (and review!)

I want to wish a Happy Release Day to J.L. Bryan for his newest book:







Ellie Jordan’s job is to catch and remove unwanted ghosts. Part detective, part paranormal exterminator, Ellie operates out of Savannah, Georgia, one of the oldest and most haunted cities in North America. 

When a family contacts her to deal with a disturbing presence in the old mansion they’ve recently purchased, Ellie first believes it to be a typical, by-the-book specter, a residual haunting by a restless spirit. Instead, she finds herself confronting an evil older and more powerful than she’d ever expected, rooted in the house’s long and sordid history of luxury, sin, and murder. The dangerous entity seems particularly interested in her clients’ ten-year-old daughter. 

Soon her own life is in danger, and Ellie must find a way to exorcise the darkness of the house before it can kill her, her clients, or their frightened young child. 



My Review:


I was lucky enough to get a chance to read this book before it came out! So lucky!!!

Once again Bryan has knocked it out of the park!  I have loved all his books so far and I sooo glad he's making another series to enjoy! My only complaint is he creates such great books, it's hard to review them without sounding like a complete promotional ad! But I will try! 

OK. (Deep breath)

I'm definitely giving this book 5 stars. I enjoyed everything about it. 

I love the way Bryan brings everything together. The characters, the story, the way he weaves the paranormal into the present day. No it's not building a complete world from the ground up. But in a way it's harder to have to fit the world the characters and story that you've created into the present day, yet still keep it fun and believable. 
Ellie is a great strong female lead. She's sarcastic and funny, but she's not the only one. All the characters bring something interesting to the table, even the ghosts! I'm so glad this is only book one in the series, because I can't wait to see the characters grow and to find out more about them.
While I did see some of the story coming, mainly because there was obviously so much left of the book, it did have a lot of great twists and turns. Also I really liked the reasoning behind them, it added that extra draw into the story.  I especially like the twist at the end. I was not expecting it. 
Yes, this is book one in the series but it doesn't end on a cliffie. (YAY!) It's a great stand alone novel, yet at the same time it sets up the beginning of what looks to be an awesome series. I can't wait for the next novel to come out! I want to see where Bryan takes the characters and get to know them better. I think the book is easily enjoyable across a range of ages, from teen to adult. I would let my teens read it without reservations, but at the same time, I would definitely recommend it to my friends as well. If you haven't read any of Bryan's work.....seriously? Why not? This is a great book to start with if you haven't.  As I said above, even though it's the beginning of a series, it is a capable stand alone, so no need to worry about being left hanging at the end. If you have read his work...then what are you doing reading this review??? You already know Bryan's work is amazing! Stop reading this and go get this book!! 


****All the legalese:  I received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and nobody else's. ****