Saturday, July 26, 2014

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 9



I don't see the change yet...but I'm feelin' it!



This week started off great!  I went to a fundraiser breakfast for the dance team at the local high school and wore a dance mom t-shirt I had picked up a few months before.  Now when I bought it I ended up buying a size medium and even with my spanx-like undershirt it was TIGHT!  But it was the only one they had left and it was too cute to pass up. Well when I put it on on Saturday it fit!  It wasn't hanging off or anything, but it was definitely looser, without any special underwear!

Then I saw a friend on Wednesday who I hadn't seen in almost a month and the first words out of her mouth were that I looked thinner and how much weight had I lost so far!!!  Such a self-esteem boost!

Course with all that awesomeness going on something crappy was gonna happen! I got to my meeting Friday and I had gained weight! OMG!!!! Seriously!!!  It was only .8 of a pound, but still.  I had been feeling amazing all week and then *BLAM* no weight loss for me! Stupid scale...

Also Debbie wasn't there again this week.  I felt really bad for the leader that week.  She seems really nice, but I don't think she was completely comfortable with the group yet.  Plus I got to the meeting early and overheard some of the regulars saying that since it wasn't the normal group leader they probably weren't staying...

That made me feel really bad for her.  It's not her fault she doesn't know everybody by name, or any of the inside jokes or anything. I tried to participate more for her sake. Maybe if she feels more comfortable she will be able to interact with the group better and then everyone will enjoy the meeting more.

So here are my pics for this week. With my extra .8 of a pound...


7/26/13



7/26/13

Weight: 195.6 lbs :'(


Saturday, July 19, 2014

Review of Cinderlla Spinderella by Mark Binder




The classic story of Cinderella has been modernized and urbanized in this beautifully illustrated edition, written with delightful humor and a surprising twist. 

Cinderella Spinderella uses ebook technology to allow readers to choose how Cinderella looks. Is she Black, White, Asian, Hispanic, or from the Indian subcontinent? 

You can pick. 

Mark Binder’s Cinderella Spinderella began its life as a spoken-word story told to very different audiences— groups of inner city youngsters and their parents and campers with severe physical disabilities. 

The ebook Cinderella Spinderella, connects with any reader, offering 25 different combinations, so that every youngster can see herself or himself reflected in the story. 
This is Cinderella who powerfully chooses her identity! 

The classic story is modernized in this beautifully illustrated edition, written with delightful humor and a surprising twist. 


My Review:

In advance, I'd like to say that I didn't read the e-version of this book, I read the print copy. However I did give an e-version to a friend of mine to read with her daughter and I was able to get their feedback on it for this review. 

I really liked the idea behind Cinderella Spinderella, which is one of the reasons I agreed to review it. I liked the fact that the reader would get to choose different Cinderellas and different princes for the story. The print version I received to review was the Autumn Cinderella and Prince, but the e-version allows for the reader to choose any season Cinderella and any season prince. I was so intrigued by this that I sent a copy to my friend Crystal to read with her daughter Gabby before I even got a chance to read the book. I'm very glad I did, but I will get to their thoughts in a sec. To see all the different variations check out the Cinderella Spinderella website.
I have to say the print copy was absolutely delightful. Let's start with the story itself.
I love the way the author rewrote Cinderella. The modern spin is nice and, while I really dislike the wicked step-sisters, I did get a kick out of their bickering. I also liked their final punishment. I liked how Eleanor finally overcame her sisters and their horrible treatment.   I have to say though my favorite part of the story is when Cinderella meets her fairy godmother. I love her line about the glass slippers.  
As for the artwork. I love the vibrant colors and how the pictures take up the page but don't distract from the story. They really are wonderful and fun.  In the beginning of the book it showed some of the different pictures that would normally be shown in the e-version.  A lot of work went into this book and the pictures are proof.

Gabby and her mom loved the e-version as well. Gabby suffers from Rett's Syndrome and is confined to a
wheelchair, among other physical issues, but she really got involved with the story. She liked picking out her Cinderella and her prince and even helped her mom turn the pages. Crystal liked how the book was truthful in how people treat people with disabilities and didn't try to sugar coat it, but how in the end Cinderella was able to show them how wrong they were. To directly quote her:

It made me angry [the treatment of Cinderella]. But also hopeful that kids can see that children/people in wheelchairs can be every bit as much of a princess as anyone else, just like my Gabbers."

To elaborate a bit more on the angry part, she said it only made her angry because she sees people, even her own Gabby, treated this way everyday. Overall she thinks it's a great book and hopes that everyone would get the chance to read it.

I'm really glad that I was able to get this book for Gabby. I'm glad she enjoyed it. I'm also glad that it gives kids a heroine they can relate to. I want to say thank you to Gabby and her mom for letting me know how much they enjoyed the book. Click on the links to find out more about Gabby and/or Rett's Syndrome.

I have to say I really admire the author as well. Not only for creating Cinderella Spinderella, but he has also started a Pay It Forward program to help get print copies of the book to kids who might otherwise not be able to afford it. Please go check it out. Even if you can't donate, at least share the program to help get the word out. Also be sure to check back soon, Mark Binder was nice enough to agree to come do a guest post here at AimeeKay's Reviews. Scroll down a bit to find out more about him.


****


Mark Binder
is an award-winning author and story performer. His work uses laughter and language to teach children tolerance and bridge ethnic and ability differences. Over the past twenty years, he has shared his Bed Time Story Book series with a hundred-thousand plus readers and listeners around the world in print, in person, and in audio recordings. Cinderella Spinderella is his most recent book


****


The fine print:

I was given a print copy of Cinderella Spinderella in exchange for an honest review. Yes, I bought a copy for my friend and her daughter and she let me know what she thought of it, she was also nice enough to let me use a picture of her and Gabby with the book for my review. But I bought the book solely based on what I saw when I went to check out the book on Amazon before agreeing to review it. I'm just really glad that they enjoyed it as much as I did. 


My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 8

So I'm back on track this week.  I made sure that I kept track of everything I ate this week and wrote it down in my book.  Also at the meeting last week we had discussed if a food is worth the points spent on it.  I can think of a few food choices that are sooooo worth it.  (Chocolate anyone?)  Also some that aren't. (Black Licorice! Blech!)  Well this past week I was at the Market Nights that the town I live in holds during the summer.  One of the few downfalls of Market Night is that there really isn't any healthy alternative.  I took some snacks with me, and ate before I went so I wouldn't be hungry. But seriously who can say no to mini-dougnuts? Especially when you get to watch them being made. *drool*  However I stayed strong! I decided that I wanted to get something that I would enjoy for a bit longer than the doughnuts and not feel so bad about later. Sooooo I got a henna tattoo!

Yeah it only lasts about 2 weeks, but it was so worth the points!


I also tried a new Weight Watchers recipe this week.  I got this one online, not from my book so I don't have a comparison pic.

There's fish in there, I swear!

It's red snapper with vegetables.  It took only 15 minutes in the oven.  One bonus is that, since it cooks in it's own little tin foil packet, each serving is already measured out when you take it from the oven.  Another bonus is that it is only 4 pts.  Yes, those ARE mash potatoes on the side! Since the main dish is only 4 pts. I was able to add on 1/2 a cup of them for only an additional 3pts. So total the meal was 7 pts. Very filling and it looked pretty too.  As I said to my kids. I can eat anything I want, I just can't eat everything.

 I thought it was a bit bland. I think next time I will try it with some of the other herbs that were suggested.  Maybe some basil and oregano?  What do you think? Any suggestions?  The boyfriend and both my daughters had some too. They liked it.  The boyfriend thought it tasted fine. *shrug* I was surprised by that since he loves spicy stuff.

At the meeting the usual coordinator wasn't there. (Still keep forgetting her name! Bad me!)  There was a new lady, but she was only temporary since the regular one was sick. (Didn't catch her name either. I know soooo wrong)
The meeting didn't seem as fun as normal.  I know it's a Weight Watchers meeting, how fun can it be?  But still even though the regulars were there, they didn't seem to talk as much.  I felt bad for her so I raised my had and added my thoughts to the conversation.  I don't think anyone meant to be quiet, I just think that they weren't used to her.  It's nice to know I'm not the only shy one! Also I was able to pick up a Weight Watcher Pedometer!  Yay!  They hadn't had any in before and there was only 1 left when I got there.


  Lucky me!  It's better than a regular pedometer because not only does it calculate your steps and auto-reset itself at midnight.  It ALSO lets you know if you walk enough to start earning activity points.  Activity points help to offset some of the points you use for meals during the day.  While my hip and heart prevent me from going out to any marathon walks at the moment, it will be nice to get an idea of how much I do walk during the day.  My physical therapist also says that eventually I will add walking into my routine, so this will help me give him feedback too.
I lost 3 lbs. this week. Bringing my grand total to 15.8 lbs.!  I got another 5lb sticker too!


7/19/13



7/19/13


Weight:  194.8 lbs.

Monday, July 14, 2014

Free Books Today!



Don't forget that today is Digital Book Day! That means a whole bunch of awesome e-books for free! I plan on picking up ALL of them! I'd love to know which ones you get. Leave a comment letting me know!

Thanks again to Maureen O. Betita for letting me know about this awesome event!

Saturday, July 12, 2014

Who wants free books?!?

Well that's a silly question! Everyone wants free books!! July 14th, this Monday for all of you who are like me and have trouble with dates at all, the wonderful author C.J. Lyons has organized a free book extravaganza! 




Feel free to click on the link above and check out what books will be available Monday. If you're an author check out this link for more info! Thanks to Maureen O. Betita for the heads up on this super cool event!

My Adventures in Weight Loss @ Weight Watchers Week 7

I was soooo bad this week.  I have been crazy busy between the holiday, stuff for my blog, drs. appointments, and stuff for my kids that I just flaked on writing down my food.  I still calculated in my head what I was eating and I stayed within my points, but I just didn't write anything down.  I told one of the woman at the meeting this and she said that one of the things she liked about Weight Watchers was the fact that every day is a new day.  Nobody is perfect but just because we go over points, or don't record food, or points for a day (or more in my case) that the next day we can always try to do better.

Needless to say I was panicking when I stepped on the scale.  I thought for sure I had gained all the weight I had lost so far back. (Ok, maybe not that much but at least a lb or two)  To my surprise I was actually the same exact weight as last week!  Yay!  I should feel depressed or embarrassed.  Maybe if I had written down everything all week I would have lost some.  But I am so glad that I didn't gain anything.  So this week was basically a wash in my book. No loss, but no gain either.

7/12/13





7/12/13

Weight: 197.8 lbs.

Monday, July 7, 2014

Happy Release Day & Giveaway!


NEW RELEASE
Second Daughter (The Dharian Affairs #2)
Assassins, skyships, and royal intrigue...

Kindle, Kobo, AllRomance
Second Daughter is the second book in The Dharian Affairs trilogy (Third Daughter, Second Daughter, First Daughter). This steampunk-goes-to-Bollywood (Bollypunk!) romance takes place in an east-Indian-flavored alternate world filled with skyships, assassins, royal romance and intrigue.


Reviews of the first book, Third Daughter:
"The author fuses carriages, steam trains, airships and clockwork with the rich eastern culture that underlies Bollywood storytelling..." - Cherie Reich

"The political intrigue, the steampunk gadgets, and the beautiful costumes kept me in wonderment." - Tony Benson


“Third Daughter is vividly breathtaking. Quinn delivers royal intrigue, exotic locations, and sweeping romance. Not to be missed!” - Pavarti Tyler, author of Shadow on the Wall

ON SALE - 99cents until 7/21
Third Daughter (The Dharian Affairs #1)
Kindle, Nook, Kobo, iTunes, AllRomance
(also available in print)

The Third Daughter of the Queen wants her birthday to arrive so she'll be free to marry for love, but rumors of a new flying weapon may force her to accept a barbarian prince's proposal for a peace-brokering marriage. Desperate to marry the charming courtesan she loves, Aniri agrees to the prince's proposal as a subterfuge in order to spy on him, find the weapon, and hopefully avoid both war and an arranged marriage to a man she does not love.

NEW
Both books now have a map!

Speedy Tweets to Share:

NEW RELEASE: Second Daughter (Dharian Affairs #2) Assassins, skyships, royal intrigue #steampunk #fantasy #romance http://bit.ly/SDAmazon

WIN Gift Card and PAPERBACK Third Daughter (Dharian Affairs #1) #steampunk #fantasy #romance http://www.susankayequinn.com

Skyships, saber duels, royal romance: Third Daughter (Dharian Affairs#1) ON SALE 99cents http://bit.ly/ThirdDAmaz

Thank you so much for helping me get this book out in the world!

Win

paperback copy of Third Daughter 
$10 Amazon Gift Card
check out the gorgeous formatting of the print book!