Saturday, December 29, 2012

Pay It Forward Challenge 2012

I had 3 more items to give out for my Pay It Forward Challenge.   Unfortunately one of the people who had commented on my Facebook status didn't get back to me with their address.  (I emailed them a while back so I'm assuming they don't want their prezzie. *sigh*)  So that meant that I only had 2 more to give out and I sent out one of those last week and gave the other out the week before. I wanted to wait a bit before I put up the post though since I don't know if the last person got theirs in the mail yet or not.  So hopefully they have gotten their prezzie and this doesn't ruin the surprise for them. 

So I made hand made potholders for my friend Jen, from Writer's Toybox, and for my friend Sarah.  

I had a lot of fun with this contest over the past year and I definitely plan to do it again next year.  Not sure if I'll still do it with the contest or not.
 It will still be fun contest or not. 'Til next year! 

Friday, December 28, 2012

Pay It Forward 2012 Challenge

So I wanted to share one of the beautiful homemade/handmade prezzies I received as part of the Pay It Forward Challenge.  It's a beautiful poem from my friend Jen over at Writer's Toybox.

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Manga/Graphic Novel/ Video Game Novel Challenge 2012 - December Round-Up

This challenge is being hosted by Mother/Gamer/Writer.
 For more details on the challenge such as levels, guidelines, PRIZES!!!, just click here.

This post is to  link to all reviews of the books I've read for this challenge this month. To check out  books for this month read by other readers that are taking part in this challenge click here!

So I started out this Challenge with a Warhammer 40,000 novel and I figured it would be appropriate to end it with one too!   So the book review I'm giving you this month for the challenge is:

Sons of Fenris
A Space Wolf Novel
By: Lee Lightner

Summery from Amazon:

Ragnar and the Wolfblade are sent to investigate reports of Chaos attacks on the planet Hyades. When the Space Wolves come up against a squad of Dark Angels, the situation quickly escalates out of control, as both Chapters call in reinforcements. Unless these two ancient rivals start working together, the forces of Chaos will surely triumph - can the heroic Ragnar save the day?

My Review:

I really enjoyed the first Space Wolf novel I read back in January and I regret having put off reading this one for so long, because I really enjoyed it too.  I loved getting back into the Warhammer universe and reading about Ragnar's adventures across the galaxy. 
While this book isn't the next book in the series I didn't find myself lost or confused. (as is the case in some series novels)  Also even though it was by a different author the writing styles were similar and not a drastic change from the first novel. 
I really like the Space Wolf novels so far.  They are classic Sci-fi/Fantasy.  Futuristic worlds, fantastical creatures, tons of adventure, and constant action.  The story has mystery to it too that drew me in trying to figure out who was the traitor.
The characters are interesting and I liked finding out where Ragnar had been since the last novel.  Click here to read the rest of my review!

I've loved participating in this challenge and I plan on participating in the 2013 one as well!  Look for my post about it on January 1st, or click here now to find out more info! Thanks to Mother/Gamer/Writer for hosting this Challenge. I've had a lot of fun!     

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

She & Him - I'll Be Home for Christmas

Songs of the Season

Event production by
Random Magic Tour
Sasha Soren (Random Magic)
Dec. 10-25, 2012

I've been planning on sharing this one for over a month!  As some of you know I recently moved. I still haven't gotten around to putting up picks of my new place. (sorry guys been crazy busy!)  But I do have some pics of my home all decked out for the holidays! (the outside anyway!) While I know not everyone will be home for the holidays I am extremely grateful to be able to say that I will be and I hope as many of you who can be home will be able to be home too!

Merry Christmas! Happy Holidays! 

I'm not the best light putter upper and this was my first time actually doing outdoor lights!

I had a few strands of each color so I tried to keep them all together,

These are actually palm trees under those lights. Looks much better in real life lol!

Monday, December 24, 2012

Songs of the Season

Songs of the Season

Event production by

Random Magic TourSasha Soren (Random Magic)
Dec. 10-25, 2012

Remember that radio station I mentioned before? They also are always playing this cute little number! No not your typical Christmas fair but that's part of the fun is getting to share and find Christmas and Holiday music that you might not otherwise get to hear. 

Hope you are healthy and safe this Christmas Eve and that Santa brings you want you want!

Monday, December 10, 2012

Songs of The Season

Songs of the Season

Event production by
Random Magic Tour
Sasha Soren (Random Magic)
Dec. 10-25, 2012

Welcome to Songs of the Season! We have a radio station that all it plays is Christmas music this time of year.  This one came on the other morning and I just had to share it!!! It is so cute and funny! I love Shirley Temple and this reminded me of one of the kids in my life.  Hope you enjoy it!

So what do you want for Christmas?

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Songs of the Season Schedule!

Songs of the Season

Event production by
Random Magic Tour
Sasha Soren (Random Magic)
Dec. 10-25, 2012

This is and event I participated in last year that was tons of fun! It starts on the 10th and runs through 'til Christmas!  So come a caroling and enjoy the great songs to help get you in the mood for the season!

Dec. 10
Manisha (Assortments)

Dec. 11
Dec. 13
Christina (The Book Addict)

Dec. 14
Pammy (Unconventional Librarian)

Dec. 15

Michelle (True Book Addict)

Dec. 16
Random Magic Tour (Random Magic Tour)
A frivolous mystery

Dec. 18
Velvet (vvb32reads)

Dec. 20
Laura (Colorimetry)

Dec. 21
Melissa (Spellbound by Books)

Dec. 22
Natalie (Songs and Stories)

Dec. 23
Random Magic Tour (Random Magic Tour)
A very sci-fi Nativity story

Dec. 25
Aimee (Reviews from my First Reads Shelf)

Monday, December 3, 2012

Review of Don't Put Me In Coach by Mark Titus

Don't Put Me In, Coach
By: Mark Titus

Summery from Amazon:

An irreverent, hilarious insider's look at big-time NCAA basketball, through the eyes of the nation's most famous benchwarmer and author of the popular blog (3.6m visits!). Mark Titus holds the Ohio State record for career wins, and made it to the 2007 national championship game. You would think Titus would be all over the highlight reels. You'd be wrong.
In 2006, Mark Titus arrived on Ohio State's campus as a former high school basketball player who aspired to be an orthopedic surgeon. Somehow, he was added to the elite Buckeye basketball team, given a scholarship, and played alongside seven future NBA players on his way to setting the record for most individual career wins in Ohio State history. Think that's impressive? In four years, he scored a grand total of nine—yes, nine—points.

This book will give readers an uncensored and uproarious look inside an elite NCAA basketball program from Titus's unique perspective. In his four years at the end of the bench, Mark founded his wildly popular blog Club Trillion, became a hero to all guys picked last, and even got scouted by the Harlem Globetrotters. Mark Titus is not your average basketball star. This is a wild and completely true story of the most unlikely career in college basketball. A must-read for all fans of March Madness and college sports!

My Review:

 I’m not a big sports fan and of the few sports I do watch basketball really isn’t even on the list.  (*Cringe* Sorry but I’m more of a hockey girl) That being said I wasn’t sure if I’d like it at first or not. But I do have to say Don’t Put Me In, Coach turned out to be an interesting book.  In short it is a memoir of his rise to bench sitting stardom and how he turned his minor status on his team into Club Trillion, thereby giving hope to the average Joe everywhere.
Mark Titus’s humor is very sarcastic. It seems he doesn’t care which of his former teammates he exposes or throws under the bus in his sordid tale of how he became the #1 bench warmer, but underneath you get the impression that even his joking is all in good fun and he and his ex-teammates probably have a much better relationship then he implies. 
Of course I could be horribly wrong and he could just be an egomaniacal, name dropping ass. *shrug*
Meh. Doesn’t really matter to me either way. The book itself is fascinating and funny. His humor as I said before is sarcastic and sharp, it also might not be appropriate for those easily offended.
As for the basketball aspect of it…honestly I thought that was going to be a deal breaker for me on this one. I repeat I am not a big sports fan.  I do have my ‘teams’ that I am loyal to…but it’s mainly in name only…I one of those who only watches the super bowl for the commercials.  But even when Titus get’s into the more technical points of the game and the season itself I didn’t find myself phasing out or skipping ahead. While I’m sure I didn’t grasp all the finer details, I did understand what he was saying and the occasional (who am I kidding constant is more like it) quips that he would throw in throughout his explanations kept it from getting mired in technicality.
Overall I think this is a good book. It’s funny.  Especially with the holiday season approaching I think it would make a great present or stocking stuffer for the basketball, sports, or Mark Titus fan on your list.

****In compliance with FTC guidelines, I'm disclosing that I received this book for free through GoodReads First Reads. ****
(I recommend everybody should go check out all the awesome first read giveaways they have!)